Cello Choir?

The conductor of our string ensemble (who is a cellist) is thinking of starting a cello choir at the Conservatory.  A fantastic idea,  I think, because the Cape seems to have an abundance of cellists who enjoy playing and like playing in groups.

So far there are at least 5 cellists interested, maybe more.  If this works out, I will be playing in two string groups this fall (the string ensemble and the cello choir).  I’m looking forward to that; my biggest enjoyment from playing the cello is playing in groups with others.  I love the sound of the harmonies, particularly when we get the tuning right! I have my fingers crossed that this works out.

The string ensemble music this fall is much easier than previous years; our conductor wants to focus on intonation and musicality and has picked pieces that we can learn well quickly so that we can really work on intonation and performance.  So far, it’s been good.

One thought on “Cello Choir?

Leave a comment